Fifth Time’s the Charm

I must have written it a dozen times.

“Hi, I’m Liz. I’m 20 years old an a student at the University of Pittsburgh.”

“Hi, I’m Liz. I’m a recent college graduate who can’t find a job.”

“Hi, I’m Liz. I’m 23 years old and living in Philadelphia and I hate my job.”

“Hi, I’m Liz. I’m 23 years old and I just got fired.”

“Hi, I’m Liz. I’m 25 and need something to distract me.”

Since the day I started my Introduction to Journalism course, cramped in the basement computer lab of the shining star of Pitt’s campus, the Cathedral of Learning, the idea of starting a blog has been something that dances around the back of my brain, mamboing its way to the forefront any time something interesting happens to me.

“Hey, that would be cool to write about,” I would think, quickly thinking of photos I could take, quippy one liners I could through in. But, inevitably, I would do nothing. Because I am inherently lazy.

(It probably began even before that, if the stacks of cast off diaries and notebooks that clutter the back of my childhood closet show anything.)

But no more! I tell myself. As my college and post-collegiate writing jobs and internships fade into the rear view mirror, I find myself longing for a creative output. Whether that will be to post well thought out criticisms of social injustices (you’ll note this post was written [but probably not published, remember that laziness] on November 17th, a week and a day after the election results came in) or it will be pithy treatises about what I’ve been wearing and the 10 best places to get tacos in Philadelphia. Because at the end of the day, why can’t we be both, you know? (the answer to that – a post for another day)

So, after much stalling and pretending to smoke pen cigarettes like I’m Dorothy Parker, here goes nothing.

Hi, my name is Liz. I’m a 26 year old administrative professional living in Philadelphia. These are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

